Carrick Rovers A.F.C.

'In the Community, For the Community'

Our Sponsors

  • image
  • image
  • image

Coming Up

No events

This Week's Aletto

Valley Lodge,  25th March

Letters: A S I L

Winner: Alison Deery Ward, 18 ONeill St, Carrickmacross 

Jackpot: Euro 2,300

Next week: Deery's

Jackpot: Euro 1,000


Carrick Crowned County Champions 2012

The search for the Community Games U12 soccer champions came to a close on Monday evening last in Gortakeegan with Carrick taking on Tydavnet in this years final. Carrick captained by Oisin O’Hanlon enjoyed a strong campaign in qualifying for the final with five good wins under their belt but took nothing for granted against their formidable opponents who in turn were getting better with every match.

   Tydavnet started the brighter and had good early chances on Larry McCloskey’s goal but it was Carrick who drew first blood with a goal from striker Jack McGeown. The opposition’s response was immediate and within ten minutes the sides were level. The tempo of the match had increased and both teams knew they were in a final. Disaster struck for Carrick when captain O O’Hanlon came off injured but his good pal Sean McKenna was ready to answer the call and did so with a fine display in mid-field for the remainder of the match. Carrick started to put together good passages of play, Donnach Swinburne and S mc Kenna controlled the midfield and supplied the wingers Leon Keegan and Dylan Carolan who tormented the Tydavnet defence which resulted in more goals for J McGeown and D Carolan. Just before halftime Carrick won a corner, Tydavnet cleared their line well only for the ball to fall to centre half back Cian Maher who struck a screamer to the back of net and put his team 4-1 up at the break.

     In the second half Carrick continued to dominate with Ethan O’Gorman going close on several occasions . The rock solid back four of Killian McNally ,Andrew Moore, C Maher and Mark Tierney (man of the match) kept Tydavnet from making any chance of a comeback. Enter Colman Clarke, Jacob Faughnan, Robert Jones and Bendera to the Carrick line-up and quickly adapted to the pace of the game. Carrick increased their lead with goals from L Keegan and J McGeown (4) and looked well on their way to victory. Tydavnet grabbed a late consolation goal but Carrick were home and dry. Well done lads , great performance and well deserved for a squad who showed great commitment to training and matches .

     A special thanks to Mark McNulty for his help with the team and to all the supporters who travelled on the nite. Also thanks to Art and Sally for the victory meal in McDonalds afterwards.

Team: Larry McCloskey, Killan McNally, Cian Maher, Andrew Moore, Mark Tierney, Leon Keegan Donnach Swinburne, Sean McKenna, Dylan Carolan, Oisin O’Hanlon, Jack McGeown, Bendera, Ethan O’Gorman, Colman Clarke, Jacob Faughnan, and Robert Jones.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.

Site Update by KMA Solutions