Carrick Rovers A.F.C.

'In the Community, For the Community'

Our Sponsors

  • image
  • image
  • image

Coming Up

No events

This Week's Aletto

Valley Lodge,  25th March

Letters: A S I L

Winner: Alison Deery Ward, 18 ONeill St, Carrickmacross 

Jackpot: Euro 2,300

Next week: Deery's

Jackpot: Euro 1,000


MDL C Reserves start league with away win

BMC 1-3 Carrick Rovers

Rovers MDL C Reserve side took on BMC in their first league match of the MDL season 2010/11. The match was played at the MDL grounds in Navan.

Carrick started well and had the BMC defence under pressure for the first twenty minutes before BMC had made any inroads intothe Carrick defensive third. In the next ten minutes BMC piled on the pressure and got their reward on the half hour with a beautiful pass in between the Rovers defence for the BMC no 9 to slot it by Joey Farrell in goal. Rovers thought they had a penalty five minutes later when Simon Ward was taken down by the BMC no 5, however the referee gave a free to Rovers just outside the box. Simon Ward took the resulting free kick which just inched past the post.

The second half saw Rovers push for an equaliser but BMC were happy to hold what they had. With ten minutes gone in the 2ndhalf Rovers made two substitutions, Shane Birdy for Rory McEneaney and Joe Hunt for JP McNally. Within five minutes Rovers were level when Joe Hunt ran on to a ball from Shane Birdy and chipped the ball over the onrushing keeper, it hit the post and bounced back into play for Declan Finnegan, who duly hammered it into the back of the net. Rovers then pushed for a winner and after some hard work by Simon Ward and Graham Scotson up front they pressurised the BMC defence into conceding a corner. From the corner Simon Ward scored with a header. BMC threw everything at Rovers, however the game was made safe when Graham Scotson ran on to a Joey Farrell kick-out and calmly lifted the ball over the diving keeper. It was a good performance and the team is looking forward to the away trip to Baileboro next week. 

Team: Joey Farrell, John McCabe, Paudie Cusack, Ciaran McGlynn, Paul Johnston, Darren McGlone, Graham Scotson, Declan Finnegan, Gavin McNally, JP McNally, Rory McEneaney, Simon Ward, Shane Birdy, Barry McNally, Andrew O’Rourke, Sean O’Rourke.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.

Site Update by KMA Solutions